by way of introduction

I am the one who is standing at the top of the stairs, looking down into the increasing darkness. I am the one who is at the bottom of the stairs, looking up at my own dark silhouette filling the white frame of the doorway. I am each and every stair in between.

I am the footprints in the dust of each stair and I am even the light that cascades over my own shoulders and down the steps that are me. I am the darkness that surrounds me at the bottom of the stairs and I am the air that I breathe, both above and below, within and without.

I am my own fear and I am my own courage. I am my doubt and my confidence; my shame and my pride. My innocence is shadowed only by my guilt and my purity is stained by my own sin. I am thought and reason and word and reckless abandon.

I am the slave chained to the bench and I am the chains that bind myself there. I am the shadows that dance on the wall before my eyes. I am the flames that flicker behind my own bonded self and I am the shapes that cast the shadows. I am the cave in which I dwell. I am the world that awaits me outside the cave, at the foot of the stairs, at the top of the stairs, beyond the door in which I stand.

I am all that I know; though, even I do not know all that I am.

I am and nothing more.

~ by jaekido on August 19, 2008.

One Response to “by way of introduction”

  1. Wow!

Leave a comment