Pounding

The following is a 100-word story inspired by the word “Pretty”.

Shared at Velvet Verbosity’s 100-Word site.

 

Pounding.

My heart,

My lungs,

My feet.

Sweat beads

Upon my brow

Runs into my eyes

And blends with

My tears.

The faster I run,

The harder I cry.

The harder I cry,

The faster I run.

No matter how far

I run,

I cannot outrun

The ghosts,

The demons,

Of my past

And my present.

The darkness

Is my mask.

The night

Is my cloak.

The unseen

Is my burden.

When the dawn

Finally comes

I have run

To the edge

Of the earth,

Where land

Meets sea.

The rising sun,

Cleanses the sins

Of the damned.

So pretty.

~ by jaekido on April 29, 2013.

4 Responses to “Pounding”

  1. Nice

  2. an eerie night – glad the dawn arrived!

  3. There’s always redemption. Nicely done.

  4. heartbreakingly beautifully right on!

Leave a comment